Quest for the Perfect Brows

 

Thick, thin, arched, or flat, eyebrows have an array of different shapes and size. What is in this month could change the next. Along with these changes comes the solutions to achieve these new looks.

Nowadays, there are several more realistic looking solutions which range from eyebrow kits that you get from Sephora to 3-D eyebrow embroidery (microblading). What works for some may not be the best solution for others. You have to be careful when trying to decide which solution is best for you, because things can go terribly, terribly wrong!

As an avid eyebrow pencil user, I grew tired of having to draw my eyebrows on every morning. Fearing that my brows might smudge or wind up on someone’s face after I kissed them (it has happened many times, so embarrassing). I decided to make a change!

me1

I decided to undergo the eyebrow thickening technique of eyebrow tinting. It is a simple 20 minute process, almost the same as getting your hair dyed and easy on your pockets. Eyebrow tinting is temporary and last up to a month. This was perfect for a commitment-phobe like me.

When I left the salon I was ecstatic, my brows were on “fleek”. I finally had full, beautiful eyebrows. Unfortunately, 45 minutes to an hour later, my eyebrows were starting to itch and burn. The old adage “beauty is pain” must have come from this pain.

 

Warning! The following pictures are graphic.

 

eyebrow tint 1eyebrow tint 2

I had an allergic reaction to the dye. This could have been avoided if a skin-patch test was done. Unfortunately for me, I didn’t have one administered and I wasn’t informed about being able to have one done either.

eyebrow tint 4

I had to go to the ER. My eyebrows got infected and the hair started falling out. My face swelled some badly that I couldn’t recognize myself in the mirror. This was one of the most humiliating times of my life! The worse part (besides the pain) is that I still had to go to class. I had to wear sunglasses and a hat to try to hide my face.

Luckily, a lot of antibiotics and two weeks later, my face went back to normal. I have decided to stick with eyebrow pencil.

 

Published by

Elaina Hurd

I am a senior at the University of Louisville. I am double majoring in communications and psychology. I enjoy traveling, and trying new things. I believe the key to living a fulfilled live is to be as cultured and diverse life as possible -be adventurous!

One thought on “Quest for the Perfect Brows”

Leave a Reply

