Social Media, yea or nay?

According to Queen Rania of Jordan, “Social media are a catalyst for the advancement of everyone’s rights. It’s where we’re reminded that we’re all human and all equal. It’s where people can find and fight for a cause, global or local, popular or specialized, even when there are hundreds of miles between them.” Social media plays an important role in my life. I use it to keep connected with my friends and families that are far away. I use Snapchat and Facebook every day. Not only are they good for, keeping in touch, but they are good for passing the time. Whenever I’m bored I look at peoples post on Facebook, or I watch their stories on Snapchat. Through Facebook, I have been able to talk to relatives I never have even met. I have found out that I have a lot in common with them through their posts. On the other hand, I still try to resist some social media sites. For example, I still don’t have a Twitter because I try to stay away from the gossip of the world. I also didn’t have an Instagram until a few months ago. I only got one because my friend made it for me. I barely use it. I do plan to one day get a Twitter account one day, because I have recently found out how useful it actually could be. It lets you know when you favorite stores are having sells, for example. Social media is a great tool for communication, but if used wrong it can cause much harm. I don’t believe that we can ensure that social media will serve as a force that improves interpersonal human communications. At the same time I don’t believe that social media is something that is shallow or used to harm people. Social media/ the internet are an incorporeal thing and do not emote. We as individuals chose how we use social media for good or bad. In other words, social media isn’t bad or good it all depends on the person using it.

Looking back over this course I’ve learned a lot of new things, but the one thing that sticks out for me was the displacement theory.  This theory states that “we as individuals only have so much time in our lives that we can communicate. Meaning that participation in one communication domain takes away from others, when a new communication technology is introduced then we have less time for other communication activities.” This theory is proves to be true in many aspects of technology. For instance in the case of social media, we have moved through many different social networks. For example before Facebook was big we had Myspace. Once people started using Facebook more they stopped using Myspace as much. Now Myspace is virtually obsolete unless you are a musically talented person. The impact of communication technologies in my life has made things easier, because in order to for a technology to be successful it has to be as easy as or easier than then its predecessor. To learn more about the progression and of social media I have linked an article about the evolution of social media.

Published by

Elaina Hurd

I am a senior at the University of Louisville. I am double majoring in communications and psychology. I enjoy traveling, and trying new things. I believe the key to living a fulfilled live is to be as cultured and diverse life as possible -be adventurous!

Leave a Reply

