Ahh…. Yes the good old days!



       I can still remember my first encounter with computers and the Internet. The first computer I ever used was when I was about seven years old. I used to play games on my father’s computer. The computer games I played at that time were minesweeper, free sale, solitaire, pinball, and paint. I could spend hours playing games or painting a picture with assorted tools, such as paintbrush, spray, or fill. My first memory I have a bout the Internet was the famous animated Dancing baby. I also remember back then we had dial-up, which made it hard to make or receive calls. If you picked up the phone you would hear this annoyingly loud high-pitched squeal in your ear.

   The experiences I had with computers and The Internet that had the biggest impact on me were educational uses. When I was in fifth grade my sisters and I got to have a computer just for us girls. By this time we had computer games on CD-ROMs. The first game I remember is my Sesame Street game, because it allowed me to play with whatever Muppet character I wanted. I always pick Zoe the Spanish-speaking Muppet. I learned a lot of Spanish that has stuck with me all my life. I even use some of these words in Spanish class now days.  Another cd ROM game I remember is where in the world is Carmen Sandiego. This game was educational, because it taught me historical and geographical facts but in a fun way. I also remember going on the Internet for games. I would go to Barbie.com or nickelodeon.com because they had all sorts of games for children.

     However I would have to say the biggest and most positive impact that I have of the computer was in the fifth grade. At this time I lived in Germany and I attended a DoD school (school for military memeber’s children). There they taught us children how to use PowerPoint and Excel. We didn’t have a choice in the matter but I’m happy they made us learn it, because these programs are still in important part of today’s society.

     The theory of the relative constancy principal tells us that people only have a finite amount of leisure time. Time spent on new communication technologies will come at the expense of old communication technologies. With my experiences this has proved to be true. I stopped playing computer games once I got my CD ROMs, and I stopped playing cd ROM games once I had Internet games. Even though we have newer technologies we still have a resemblance of the old technologies from which the new one started. For example, CD-ROM games are computer games, and so our Internet games. The difference being you don’t have to use a disk to play the Internet games, but the gist is still the same. I have attached an article that talks about Old-Fashioned Tech Terms You Still Use Today. This article points out the difference, but similarities we use with old & new technologies.

Published by

Elaina Hurd

I am a senior at the University of Louisville. I am double majoring in communications and psychology. I enjoy traveling, and trying new things. I believe the key to living a fulfilled live is to be as cultured and diverse life as possible -be adventurous!

Leave a Reply

